192 High Street (1st Floor)
West Drayton, Middlesex
United Kingdom UB7 7BE
Founder President  General Choi Hong Hi (1918-2002)
 Grand Master Choi Jung Hwa

ITF Forum > Technical Forum > 15. Kodang

back to forum | Help | Search

Kodang Tul

Change of name
8 Replies
Jump to the bottom of the page Posts 1 to 9 of 9
 Start a new topic
Original Message Post # 1
Fri 1st Apr 2011 12:50
Richard Woodrow
Topics: 1 Replies: 1
TaeKwon,
                    I have not trained in TaeKwon-Do for a few years now and am relearning all my patterns up to III Dan. I have noticed that from the technical area at first glance it seems that Pattern Juche which I performed for my III Dan, has been replaced by pattern Kodang which I beleive was practiced even before I started training in TaeKwon-Do.

Would a member please tell me the reason for this as I have not come accross any mention of this in the last edition of the encyclopedia by Gen Choi released in 2004.

Is it simply a change of name or are there more significant differences?

Many thanks,

Richard
Post # 2
Top Fri 1st Apr 2011 13:51
Mark Skyrme

GBR-7-1014
View Profile
Topics: 41 Replies: 148
Hi Richard,

Copied from the "News" section:

Dear Taekwon-Do practitioners,

Please be advised that effective immediately, the tul of "Ju Che" will be known as it was originally created by our founder General Choi Hong Hi as "Kodang".

Taekwon-Do, the Korean martial art was created by our founder to be free of religious and political ideologies. It was General Choi's wish to leave Taekwon-Do to humanity, free of any influence from religion, government and political influence accordingly, it was decided to revert the name to the original name chosen by General Choi.

As we make this change, the ITF reaffirms its desire to remain independent and true to the teachings of our founder.

ITF Administration